setup cvs server on ubuntu

1. open terminal – (for this tutorial, I am using puTTY from Windows 7 to Ubuntu 10.04)

2. install cvs

3. install cvsd

4. check ‘myrepos’ directory in /var/lib/cvsd

5. initial the directory

sudo cvs -d /var/lib/cvsd/myrepos init

6. modify the file /var/lib/cvsd/myrepos/CVSROOT/config

sudo vi /var/lib/cvsd/myrepos/CVSROOT/config

add the line into it:

SystemAuth=no
PamAuth=no
LockDir=/tmp/myrepos

save and exit vi

7. create LockDir directory

sudo mkdir /var/lib/cvsd/tmp/myrepos

8. add user and define your password – I created a user named ‘faizal’ with ‘password’

sudo cvsd-passwd /var/lib/cvsd/myrepos faizal

9. edit cvsd.conf file and save it

sudo vi /etc/cvsd/cvsd.conf

go to end of line and change this part

Listen 127.0.0.1 2401

if you are connected through LAN, change from 127.0.0.1 to 0.0.0.0

10. change ownership with recursive for /var/lib/cvsd directory

sudo chown -R cvsd:cvsd /var/lib/cvsd

11. restart cvsd and check status

12. test your cvs connection from localhost

13. test your cvs server from different machine in the same network

14. finish – yeay!

12 thoughts on “setup cvs server on ubuntu

    • Thank you.
      What do you mean by ‘access CVS from outside network’?
      If you are still in the same network but different segment, just change from 127.0.0.1 to 0.0.0.0
      Server will bind all IP addresses.

  1. Hi, i have a question, when i login it gave me error

    cvs [login aborted]: unrecognized auth response from xxx.xx.x.xx: cvs pserver: /myrepos/CVSROOT/config [4]: unrecognized keyword `PamAuth’

    Thanks.

    BTW, Nice tutorial ^_^

  2. Hi, Good day. Thank you for your reply

    i just follow your tutorial, i tried to remove the ‘PamAuth’ then when i test to login, it’s success.

    why i’m having that error?

    Sorry for my bad english ^_^

    Thank you

  3. Hello

    I have a problem with this instruction. When you said open the config file and add these lines:
    SystemAuth=no
    PamAuth=no
    LockDir=/tmp/myrepos

    first I cannot add them in the command window. Secondly when I open the folder outside of the command windows and go to CVSROOT and find the config file, add these lines at the end of the file, I cannot SAVE it. It says you don’t have permission to do that. I saved AS, but again it does not let me do that.

    Also, should I add # before each line?
    how can I add the lines. Please help me. I do not have any idea about CVS but I was told to set up a CVS server on linux machine.

    More info:

    I did not set up any CVS client yet, I will install WinCVS but the server in ubuntu 12.04.

    Thanks A LOT.

Leave a Reply

